Peter Sarnak
Professor Peter Sarnak Granted Honorary Doctorate by King's College London

King's College London presented Professor Peter Sarnak with an honorary doctorate on Wednesday, October 25, 2017.

John Pardon
Professor John Pardon Named 2017 Packard Fellow

Congratulations to Professor John Pardon, who was named a 2017 Packard Fellow. The David and Lucile Packard foundation named 18 fellows this year, each of whom will receive $875,000 over five years to pursue their research.

Alexandros Eskenazis, Artem Kotelskiy, and Hansheng Diao
Congratulations to This Year's Graduate Student and Junior Faculty Teaching Award Winners!

This is the fifth year the “Department of Mathematics Graduate Teaching Award” has been given. Last year, it was awarded to Charles Stibitz and Anibal Velozo Ruiz. The award was created to recognize excellence in teaching at the undergraduate level.

Allan Sly
Professor Allan Sly awarded NSF Career grant

Congratulations to Professor Allan Sly for being awarded an NSF Career grant. With this five year grant Professor Sly will study "stochastic processes and embeddings on networks."

2017 Simons Investigators
Professors Igor Rodnianski, Amit Singer, and Allan Sly named 2017 Simons Investigators
The Simons Foundation has named Princeton professors Igor Rodnianski, Amit Singer, and Allan Sly as Simons Investigators in 2017. The Simons Investigators program provides a stable base of support for outstanding scientists, enabling them to undertake long-term study of fundamental questions.
Department Mourns Maryam Mirzakhani, 1977—2017

Maryam Mirzakhani, a Princeton faculty member from 2004 through 2008 and the first woman to win a Fields Medal, died on Friday, July 14, of breast cancer.Professor Mirzakhani received her Ph.D.

Congratulations to the Mathematics Concentrators Elected to Phi Beta Kappa
Congratulations to the Mathematics Concentrators Elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa Society, founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776, has had a Princeton chapter since 1898. Membership is based on general academic performance throughout the college course; normally about a tenth of a class is elected.

János Kollár
Professor János Kollár Awarded 2017 Shaw Prize

Professor János Kollár has been awarded the 2017 Shaw Prize in mathematics.

Anibal Velozo Receives Graduate School Teaching Award

Anibal Velozo, a fourth year graduate student, was one of ten recipients of the 2017 Graduate School Teaching Award. Anibal has also shared this year's departmental graduate student teaching award with Charles Stibitz.About the award:

Annual Department Spring Recital: Thursday, April 20, 5:30 p.m.

Our Annual Department Spring Recital will be held on Thursday, April 20, 5:30–7:30 p.m. in Taplin Auditorium (w/brief intermission). We have a wonderful program this year.

Professor John Pardon '11 Receives NSF Waterman Award

Professor John Pardon has received a National Science Foundation Alan T. Waterman Award, which is the nation's highest honor for scientists and engineers younger than 35.

Professors Michael Aizenman and Manjul Bhargava *01 Named Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Professors Michael Aizenman and Manjul Bhargava *01, along with five other Princeton faculty members, have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences this year.

Putnam Team Takes 2nd Place, Among Numerous Recognitions

Good news from this year's Putnam Competition!Princeton's team of Eric Schneider, Alex Song and Xiaoyu Xu won 2nd place.

The Department Mourns Professor Emeritus Gerard Washnitzer *50

It is with deep regret that we must report the death of Gerard Washnitzer, Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus, who died on April 2, 2017. Professor Washnitzer did his doctoral work at Princeton under Salomon Bochner,  receiving his Ph.D. in 1950.

Sophomore Open House: Thursday, April 6, 3:30p.m.

Sophomore Open HouseThursday, April 6, 20173:30 – 4:30 p.m.Fine Hall Common Room (3rd Floor)
Meet faculty members and instructors
Learn more about the Mathematics Department

Hansheng Diao and Christine Taylor Honored with Excellence in Teaching Awards

Mathematics Department members Hansheng Diao and Christine Taylor were awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award by the Undergraduate and Graduate Engineering Student Councils on March 2, 2017.

Assistant Professors Nicholas Sheridan, Han Liu, and Four Department Alumni Named 2017 Sloan Fellows in Mathematics

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation recently announced the list of 2017 Sloan Research Fellows, which includes seven Princeton faculty members.

Professor Michael Aizenman Elected Foreign Member of Academia Europaea

Professor Michael Aizenman has been elected as a foreign member of Academia Europaea.The object of Academia Europaea is the advancement and propagation of excellence in scholarship in the humanities, law, the economic, social, and political sciences, mathematics, medi

Vlad Vicol Awarded NSF Career Grant

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Vlad Vicol for being awarded an NSF Career grant. With this five year grant Dr.

Professor Charles Fefferman *69 shares 2017 Wolf Prize in Mathematics

Congratulations to Professor Fefferman *69, who has been awarded a 2017 Wolf Prize in Mathematics for his work in a number of areas, including complex multivariate analysis, partial differential equations and sub-elliptical problems.

Professor Manjul Bhargava *01 Elected Honorary Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences

The Indian Academy of Sciences has elected Professor Manjul Bhargava *01 as an honorary fellow.The Indian Academy of Sciences was founded and registered as a society in 1934 with the aim of promoting the progress and upholding the cause of science, in both pure and ap