Professors Alex Ionescu, Sergiu Klainerman, Fernando Codá Marques, John Pardon, and Peter Sarnak were elected to the 2018 class of Fellows of the American Mathematical Society. The Fellows of the American Mathematical Society program recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics.

Previous Princeton faculty to receive this honor include: Manjul Bhargava, William Browder, Alice Chang, Peter Constantin, Mihalis Dafermos, Weinan E, David Gabai, Robert Gunning, Joseph Kohn, János Kollár, Elliott Lieb, Yakov Sinai, Christopher Skinner, Elias Stein, Paul Yang, and Shou-wu Zhang.