Subscribe to News
January 8, 2016
Analysis, PDEs, and Geometry: A Conference in Honor of Sergiu Klainerman January 26-29, 2016

The Mathematics Department is pleased to announce Analysis, PDEs, and Geometry: A conference in honor of Sergiu Klainerman. For registration, schedules, and abstracts, please see the conference webpage.

Read more
November 24, 2015
New directions in statistical mechanics and dynamical systems A conference dedicated to 80th birthday of D. Ruelle and Y. Sinai.

Wednesday, December 16, 2015:

10 am:                         Hillel Furstenberg (Hebrew University of Jerusalem) - Title TBA

11:10 am:                    Peter Sarnak (Princeton University and the Institute for Advanced Study) - Title TBA

2 pm:                             Charles Fefferman (Princeton University)  - TitleTBA

3:20 pm:                     Senya Shlosman (Centre de Physique Théorique) - Title TBA

Read more
November 23, 2015
Professor Codá Marques Shares 2016 AMS Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry

Professor Fernando Codá Marques and André Neves (Imperial College London and Princeton faculty member from 2005-2009) will receive the 2016 AMS Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry. They are honored for "their remarkable work on variational problems in differential geometry [including] the proof of the Willmore conjecture." The prize citation points in particular to a paper by CodáMarques and Neves, "Min-max theory and the Willmore conjecture," Annals of Mathematics (2014).

Read more
November 10, 2015
3 Princeton Professors Named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society

Professors Alice Chang, Mihalis Dafermos, and Shou-wu Zhang have been named fellows of the American Mathematical Society for 2016.

Chang was sited for her "contributions to geometric analysis, nonlinear partial differential equations, and harmonic analysis;" Dafermos for his work in general relativity and PDEs; and Zhang for his " contributions to Arakelov geometry, arithmetic dynamics, and for extensions of the Gross-Zagier formula”.

Read more
November 9, 2015
Undergraduates: Professor Paul Yang Hosting Special Session on Next Steps for Juniors and Seniors


Dear Math Seniors & Juniors,

 Have you been thinking about THE NEXT STEP – applying to graduate school or working in the industry?

 Professor Paul Yang is hosting a special session:

 -          Professor Ozsvath will speak about the application process to study in graduate school.

Read more
October 22, 2015
Celebration of the Life and Work of John F. Nash, Jr. - October 24, 2015

Lectures on John Nash’s work by:
Mikhail Gromov 
Eric Maskin
Sergiu Klainerman
János Kollár

Public Lecture by:
Sylvia Nasar

Read more
October 13, 2015
Gauthier, Gómez Serrano, and Levine Receive Department Teaching Awards

This year's Junior Faculty Teaching Awards were given to Javier Gómez Serrano and Adam Levine. Gómez Serrano's students touted his ability to teach "fast-paced and well-planned" lectures while also making complicated ideas seem simple. Levine's students showed an equal level of admiration, noting that his lectures were entertaining as well as enlightening, and that students were inspired to work hard for a teacher who really cared about helping them understand and appreciate mathematical thinking.

Gregory Gauthier is this year's Graduate Student Teaching Award winner. His students were inspired by his enthusiasm and dedication to learn as much as possible in his linear algebra class, and were impressed not only by the clarity of this explanations but also by the quality of his jokes.

Read more