Subscribe to News
May 13, 2015
Professor Manjul Bhargava awarded the Padma Bhushan by the Republic of India

This award is for distinguished service of high order. It was presented by President Pranab Mukherjee on April 8, 2015 at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the Presidential Residence, in New Delhi, India.

Read more
May 11, 2015
Professor Yakov Sinai Elected Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa of Tel Aviv University

This degree is conferred “in recognition of [his] illustrious career as one of the most prominent mathematicians of our time [and his] crucial research over the past 50 years on dynamical systems, mathematical and statistical physics, probability theory, [and] mathematical fluid dynamics.”


The award will be presented at a ceremony to be held on May 14, 2015.

Read more
April 29, 2015
Women and Mathematics - Princeton Day will be Monday, May 18

The mathematics department will host the Princeton day of this year's Women and Mathematics program on Monday, May 18. Since 1994 the Princeton mathematics department and the Institute for Advanced Study have hosted the Women and Mathematics program. The program brings graduate and undergraduate women together with leading researchers for an 11-day intensive mentoring program.

10:00 a.m., Fine 314:
"A connection between representation theory and Severi degrees"
Yaim Cooper *13
Lecturer, Harvard University

Read more
April 28, 2015
The Annual Department Recital will be Thursday, April 30, 5:30-7:00 p.m.


Taplin Auditorium
Reception to follow in the Common Room

Performances by our very own:
Adrian Banner*02 (piano) & Alex Kontorovich’02 (clarinet/saxophone)
Matthew de Courcy-Ireland, GS3 (piano)
Billy Fang'15 (piano)
Yuchen Liu, GS2 (classical guitar)
Nikita Lvov, GS2 (piano)
Mark McConnell, lecturer (baritone) & Ryan Peckner*15 (piano)
Ryan Peckner*15 (piano)
Florian Sprung, instructor (bandoneón)
Junho Peter Whang, GS2 (piano)
Don’t miss it! Family and friends invited!


Read more
April 23, 2015
Yuval Wigderson '16 Awarded Goldwater Scholarship

Mathematics major Yuval Wigderson '16 has been awarded a 2015 Goldwater Scholarship by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation.

The Foundation was established by the United States Congress in 1986 in honor of Senator Barry Goldwater to "provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers..." This year 260 scholarship were awarded out of a pool 1,206 applicants.

Congratulations, Yuval!

Read more
April 14, 2015
Celebrating the work of Prof. Edward Nelson (1932-2014), April 22, 2015

12:15 - 1:15 (Fine Hall Common Room, 3rd fl.)
"Ed Nelson's Work in Analysis, Especially Related to Quantum Field Theory"
Barry Simon, California Institute of Technology

4:30 - 5:30 pm (Fine Hall 314)
"Questioning the Infinite"
Greg Lawler, University of Chicago
"Ed Nelson's stochatic mechanics"
Eric Carlen, Rutgers University

Presentations moderated by Simon Kochen.
Reminiscences will be held in the Common Room after the talks.

Read more
April 6, 2015
Sophomore Open House, Thursday, April 9, 3:30-4:30 p.m.

This year's Sophomore Open House will be held this Thursday, April 9, from 3:30-4:30 p.m. in the Fine Hall Common Room.

  • Meet faculty members and instructors
  • Learn more about the Mathematics Department
  • Talk with math majors -- discover what the undergraduate math expereience is all about

Information for prospective math majors can be found on our website:

Read more
April 6, 2015
3 Princeton Graduate Students Awarded 2015 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Congratulations to Irving Dai, Shreyas Tikare, and Daniel Vitek, who have been awarded 2015 NSF Graduate Research Fellowships!

Read more
March 25, 2015
John Nash*50 Has Been Awarded the 2015 Abel Prize by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters

The award will be presented by the His Majesty King Harald V of Norway at a ceremony to be held on May 19, 2015 at the University of Oslo.

 Dr. Nash was awarded this prize “for striking and seminal contributions to the theory of nonlinear partial differential equations and its applications to geometric analysis.” He shares this prize with Louis Nirenberg of the Courant Institute.

Please click here to read the full citation from the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters.

Read more
March 24, 2015
Department Manager Kathleen Applegate Receives President's Achievement Award

Congratulations to Department Manager Kathleen Applegate, who has been honored as a recipient of the President's Achievement Award.

This award was established in 1997 to recognize members of the support and administrative staffs with five or more years of service whose dedication, excellent work and special efforts have contributed significantly to the success of their departments and the University.

Read more