Subscribe to News
April 12, 2017
Professors Michael Aizenman and Manjul Bhargava *01 Named Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Professors Michael Aizenman and Manjul Bhargava *01, along with five other Princeton faculty members, have been named fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences this year. They are among 228 leaders in scholarship, business, the arts and public affairs elected this year in recognition of their contributions to their respective fields.

Read more
April 11, 2017
Putnam Team Takes 2nd Place, Among Numerous Recognitions

Good news from this year's Putnam Competition!

Princeton's team of Eric Schneider, Alex Song and Xiaoyu Xu won 2nd place.

Eric Schneider and Murilo Zanarella earned N1 distinction (6th-14th place) and sophomore Simona Diaconu won the Elizabeth Lowell Putnam Prize as highest ranking female contestant.

We also have seven honorable mentions this year: Rodrigo Angelo, Andre Arslan, Simona Diaconu, Eric Neyman, Mel Shu, Xiaoyu Xu and Roy Zhao.


Read more
April 4, 2017
The Department Mourns Professor Emeritus Gerard Washnitzer *50

It is with deep regret that we must report the death of Gerard Washnitzer, Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus, who died on April 2, 2017. 

Professor Washnitzer did his doctoral work at Princeton under Salomon Bochner,  receiving his Ph.D. in 1950. After appointments at MIT and Johns Hopkins University, Professor Washnitzer was appointed to Princeton’s faculty in 1963 until he retired in 1995. 

The University flag over East Pyne flew at half-mast in his memory April 5th through April 7th.  

Read more
March 28, 2017
Sophomore Open House: Thursday, April 6, 3:30p.m.

Sophomore Open House

Thursday, April 6, 2017
3:30 – 4:30 p.m.
Fine Hall Common Room (3rd Floor)

Read more
March 2, 2017
Hansheng Diao and Christine Taylor Honored with Excellence in Teaching Awards

Mathematics Department members Hansheng Diao and Christine Taylor were awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award by the Undergraduate and Graduate Engineering Student Councils on March 2, 2017. This student-nominated award is for a professor or TA who "was especially dedicated, taught the material clearly, and simply deserves to be recognized for the hard work he or she put into the course."  These teaching awards are entirely student-run, and any professor or AI instructing an engineering, mathematics, or physics course is eligible.

Read more
February 22, 2017
Assistant Professors Nicholas Sheridan, Han Liu, and Four Department Alumni Named 2017 Sloan Fellows in Mathematics

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation recently announced the list of 2017 Sloan Research Fellows, which includes seven Princeton faculty members. Receiving fellowships in mathematics are Assistant Professors Nicholas Sheridan and Han Liu, an Assistant Professor of Operations Research and Financial Engineering. The 2017 class of Sloan fellows in mathematics also includes Wei Ho *09, Assistant Professor at the University of Michigan; Chi Li *12, Assistant Professor at Purdue University; Jonathan Luk *12, Assistant Professor at Stanford University; and Aaron Pixton '08 *13, Assistant Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Read more
February 21, 2017
Professor Michael Aizenman Elected Foreign Member of Academia Europaea

Professor Michael Aizenman has been elected as a foreign member of Academia Europaea.

The object of Academia Europaea is the advancement and propagation of excellence in scholarship in the humanities, law, the economic, social, and political sciences, mathematics, medicine, and all branches of natural and technological sciences anywhere in the world for the public benefit and for the advancement of the education of the public of all ages in the aforesaid subjects in Europe.

Read more
February 6, 2017
Vlad Vicol Awarded NSF Career Grant

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Vlad Vicol for being awarded an NSF Career grant. With this five year grant Dr. Vicol will study "nonlinear stability mechanisms and boundary layer singularities in fluid flows."

The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization. Activities pursued by early-career faculty should build a firm foundation for a lifetime of leadership in integrating education and research. NSF encourages submission of CAREER proposals from early-career faculty at all CAREER-eligible organizations and especially encourages women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and persons with disabilities to apply.

Read more
January 30, 2017
The Department Mourns Professor John N. Mather *67, 1942–2017

Professor John N. Mather passed away Saturday, January 28th at his home in Princeton.

Professor Mather completed his doctorate at Princeton in 1967 under the supervision of John Milnor, and held positions at IHES and Harvard University before returning to Princeton as a professor in 1975, a position he held until his death.

Read more
January 9, 2017
Professor Charles Fefferman *69 shares 2017 Wolf Prize in Mathematics

Congratulations to Professor Fefferman *69, who has been awarded a 2017 Wolf Prize in Mathematics for his work in a number of areas, including complex multivariate analysis, partial differential equations and sub-elliptical problems. He shares this prize with Richard Schoen of the University of California at Irvine. The prizes are awarded annually by the Wolf Foundation, in the fields of Agriculture, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and the Arts.

Read more