Subscribe to News
February 22, 2017
Assistant Professors Nicholas Sheridan, Han Liu, and Four Department Alumni Named 2017 Sloan Fellows in Mathematics

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation recently announced the list of 2017 Sloan Research Fellows, which includes seven Princeton faculty members. Receiving fellowships in mathematics are Assistant Professors Nicholas Sheridan and Han Liu, an Assistant Professor of Operations Research and Financial Engineering. The 2017 class of Sloan fellows in mathematics also includes Wei Ho *09, Assistant Professor at the University of Michigan; Chi Li *12, Assistant Professor at Purdue University; Jonathan Luk *12, Assistant Professor at Stanford University; and Aaron Pixton '08 *13, Assistant Professor at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Read more
February 21, 2017
Professor Michael Aizenman Elected Foreign Member of Academia Europaea

Professor Michael Aizenman has been elected as a foreign member of Academia Europaea.

The object of Academia Europaea is the advancement and propagation of excellence in scholarship in the humanities, law, the economic, social, and political sciences, mathematics, medicine, and all branches of natural and technological sciences anywhere in the world for the public benefit and for the advancement of the education of the public of all ages in the aforesaid subjects in Europe.

Read more
February 6, 2017
Vlad Vicol Awarded NSF Career Grant

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Vlad Vicol for being awarded an NSF Career grant. With this five year grant Dr. Vicol will study "nonlinear stability mechanisms and boundary layer singularities in fluid flows."

The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education and to lead advances in the mission of their department or organization. Activities pursued by early-career faculty should build a firm foundation for a lifetime of leadership in integrating education and research. NSF encourages submission of CAREER proposals from early-career faculty at all CAREER-eligible organizations and especially encourages women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and persons with disabilities to apply.

Read more
January 30, 2017
The Department Mourns Professor John N. Mather *67, 1942–2017

Professor John N. Mather passed away Saturday, January 28th at his home in Princeton.

Professor Mather completed his doctorate at Princeton in 1967 under the supervision of John Milnor, and held positions at IHES and Harvard University before returning to Princeton as a professor in 1975, a position he held until his death.

Read more
January 9, 2017
Professor Charles Fefferman *69 shares 2017 Wolf Prize in Mathematics

Congratulations to Professor Fefferman *69, who has been awarded a 2017 Wolf Prize in Mathematics for his work in a number of areas, including complex multivariate analysis, partial differential equations and sub-elliptical problems. He shares this prize with Richard Schoen of the University of California at Irvine. The prizes are awarded annually by the Wolf Foundation, in the fields of Agriculture, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, and the Arts.

Read more
January 4, 2017
Professor Manjul Bhargava *01 Elected Honorary Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences

The Indian Academy of Sciences has elected Professor Manjul Bhargava *01 as an honorary fellow.

Read more
October 10, 2016
Annual Teaching Awards Go To Sheridan, Stibitz, Velozo, and Vicol

The Department's annual teaching awards were announced at a special tea on Monday, October 10. This year's Junior Faculty Teaching Awards went to Assistant Professors Nicholas Sheridan and Vlad Vicol, and the Graduate Student Teaching Awards went to Charles Stibitz and Anibal Velozo.The awards are given by the senior faculty and are based largely on student evaluations.

Read more
July 11, 2016
Professor Allan Sly Receives Doeblin Prize

During the 2016 Bernoulli World Congress in Toronto, Allan Sly was awarded the Doeblin Prize from the Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability. The Doeblin Prize "is awarded to a single individual for outstanding research in the field of probability, and who is at the beginning of his or her mathematical career. "

Read more
June 24, 2016
Professor Peter Sarnak Awarded Honorary Doctorate from the University of St. Andrews

At its June, 2016 graduate ceremony, the University of St. Andrews awarded Professor Peter Sarnak with an honorary degree. Professor Sarnak was one of nine distinguished recipients this year.

Read more
June 16, 2016
Professor Amit Singer Named National Finalist for Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists

Professor Amit Singer has been named a National Finalist for Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists. The Blavatnik Family Foundation, with the guidance of the New York Academy of Sciences, founded the Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists in 2007 to celebrate the innovative achievements of young postdoctoral and faculty scientists who work in New York, New Jersey, or Connecticut.

Read more