Subscribe to News
October 16, 2017
Congratulations to This Year's Graduate Student and Junior Faculty Teaching Award Winners!

This is the third year the “Department of Mathematics Graduate Teaching Award” has been given. Last year, it was awarded to Owen Biesel and Andrew Manion. The award was created to recognize excellence in teaching at the undergraduate level. This year’s recipients are Alexandros Eskenazis and Artem Kotelskiy who are current graduate students.

Read more
September 15, 2017
Congratulations to Professor Allan Sly for being awarded an NSF Career grant.

Congratulations to Professor Allan Sly for being awarded an NSF Career grant. With this five year grant Professor Sly will study "stochastic processes and embeddings on networks."

Read more
July 28, 2017
Professors Igor Rodnianski, Amit Singer, and Allan Sly named 2017 Simons Investigators

The Simons Foundation has named Princeton professors Igor Rodnianski, Amit Singer, and Allan Sly as Simons Investigators in 2017. The Simons Investigators program provides a stable base of support for outstanding scientists, enabling them to undertake long-term study of fundamental questions.

This year's roster of Simons Investigators also included Andrea Bertozzi '87 *91, a professor of mathematics at UCLA, and Simon Brendle, who was an assistant professor in our department.

Read more
July 18, 2017
Department Mourns Maryam Mirzakhani, 1977—2017

Maryam Mirzakhani, a Princeton faculty member from 2004 through 2008 and the first woman to win a Fields Medal, died on Friday, July 14, of breast cancer.

Professor Mirzakhani received her Ph.D. from Harvard University in 2004, and was then hired as an assistant professor at Princeton University. She remained at Princeton until 2008, and was promoted to professor during that time. She then moved to Stanford to take a position as a professor, returning to Princeton in November 2015 to give the Minerva Lectures.

Read more
June 14, 2017
Professor Emeritus Sir Andrew Wiles Receives Copley Medal from Royal Society

Sir Andrew Wiles, Princeton's James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus and a Royal Society Research Professor at the University of Oxford was awarded the 2017 Copley Prize by the Royal Society.

First awarded in 1731, the Copley Medal is the Royal Society’s oldest and most prestigious award. The medal is now awarded annually for outstanding achievements in research in any branch of science. The award alternates between the physical and biological sciences (odd and even years respectively).

Read more
June 5, 2017
Congratulations to the Mathematics Concentrators Elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Philip Allen Etter
Iason Kountouridis
Joseph Uchechukwu Obiajulu
Peter Seho Park
Eric David Schneider
Bradley Louis Snider
Roy Hao Zhao

Read more
May 23, 2017
Professor János Kollár Awarded 2017 Shaw Prize

Professor János Kollár has been awarded the 2017 Shaw Prize in mathematics. Professor Kollár shares this year's prize with Clair Voisin, professor at the Collège de France, for their "remarkable results in many central areas of algebraic geometry, which have transformed the field and led to the solution of long-standing problems that had appeared out of reach."

Read more
April 21, 2017
Anibal Velozo Receives Graduate School Teaching Award

Anibal Velozo, a fourth year graduate student, was one of ten recipients of the 2017 Graduate School Teaching Award. Anibal has also shared this year's departmental graduate student teaching award with Charles Stibitz.

About the award:

Read more
April 13, 2017
Professor John Pardon '11 Receives NSF Waterman Award

Professor John Pardon has received a National Science Foundation Alan T. Waterman Award, which is the nation's highest honor for scientists and engineers younger than 35. The prize carries a five-year, $1 million grant.

Pardon was recognized for "revolutionary, groundbreaking results in geometry and topology" that "have extended the power of tools of geometric analysis to solve deep problems in real and complex geometry, topology and dynamical systems," according to the prize citation. He was selected along with Baratunde Cola, an associate professor of mechanical engineering at Georgia Tech.

Read more