Subscribe to News
September 15, 2012
First Junior Seminar and Organizational Meeting

The first joint junior seminar and organizational meeting will be held on Thursday, September 20 at 4:30pm.  All juniors are encouraged to attend!

Junior seminars for the Fall 2012:

Michael Damron: "Random Walks"

Sophie Chen: "Famous Problems of Geometry"

Tasho Kaletha: "Lie groups, Lie algebras, and their representations" 

Read more
September 10, 2012
Juanhe Tan '13 was recognized by President Tilghman with the Class of 1939 Princeton Scholar Award

Congratulations to Juanhe Tan '13, who was recognized by President Tilghman at the Opening Exercises on Sunday, September 9, 2012 with the Class of 1939 Princeton Scholar Award.

The Class of 1939 Princeton Scholar Award is given to the undergraduate who, at the end of their junior year, has achieved the highest academic standing for all preceding college work at the University. This year, the award was shared by Aman Sinha and Juanhe Tan.

Read more
August 22, 2012
Princeton Mathematics Department mourns loss of Bill Thurston

The Princeton Mathematics Department mourns the loss of former colleague, Bill Thurston (a faculty member here from 1974-1991) who died Tuesday, August 21, 2012. Bill's contributions to mathematics are immeasurable. We join our colleagues at Cornell University (where Bill was appointed at the time of his death) in extending our deepest sympathy to his family and friends.

Read more
August 22, 2012
The inaugural issue of Fine Newsletter now available

On behalf of the Mathematics Department welcome to the inaugural issue of Fine Newsletter.

Read more
July 13, 2012
Prof. Manjul Bhargava and Prof. Amit Singer appointed Simons Investigators

Professors Manjul Bhargava and Amit Singer have been appointed as Simons Investigators by the Simons foundation in the inaugural year of the program.

The Simons Investigator Award is a 5-year program where the Simons Investigator will receive research support each year.

Read more
July 5, 2012
Prof. Alice Chang Elected Academician of Academia Sinica

Academia Sinica (Taiwan, Republica of China) held its biennial Convocation of Academicians from July 2 to July 5 culminating in the announcement of the 2012 list of Academicians on July 5, 2012. Professor Alice Chang was one of 20 new Academicians and 1 Honorary Academician that were elected. 

Further information, including the full list of new Academicians, can be found at the Academia Sinica website.

Read more
June 18, 2012
Prof. Zeev Dvir awarded Dénes König Prize

Professor Zeev Dvir (jointly appointed Assistant Professor in the Mathematics and Computer Science Department) is the recipient of the Dénes König Prize for the 2012 year. The prize was awarded at the SIAM Conference on Discrete Mathematics, which was held at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada from June 18-21, 2012 in recognition of Dvir’s paper, “On the size of Kakeya sets in finite fields,” Journal of the American Mathematical Society 22 (4): 1093-1097 (2009).

Read more
June 8, 2012
Workshop on Extensive Form Games - dedicated to Harold Kuhn June 11-12

A workshop on Extensive Form Games will be held at the Institute for Advanced Studies in Vienna, June 11-12 2012. The workshop represents a continuation of the series of small conferences that the Institute has hosted in previous years. This time the workshop is dedicated to Harold Kuhn’s contribution to game theory in particular and to economics in general.  More information can be found on this website.

Read more
June 5, 2012
Prizes and Honors Awarded June 4, 2012


The George B. Covington Prize in Mathematics has been awarded to Xue Liu and Shotaro Makisumi for excellence in mathematics.

The Middleton Miller ’29 Prize has been awarded to Edgar Dobriban, Oleg Lazarev and Chuen-Ming Mike Wong for the best independent work in mathematics.

The Peter A. Greenberg ’77 Prize has been awarded to Hyungjune Kang and Evan Brooks Warner for outstanding accomplishments in mathematics.

Read more