Subscribe to News
May 29, 2014
The Spring 2014 Fine Letters is Now Available

The spring 2014 Fine Letters, the Mathematics Department newsletter, is now available. Read about recent events in the department, new and departing faculty, notable awards, and much more.

Read more
May 15, 2014
The 2014 Alumni Open House will be Friday, May 30th, beginning at 2 p.m.

The Mathematics Department will hold our 2014 Alumni Open House on Friday, May 30th. Refreshments will be served along with the following talks by faculty, graduate and undergraduate students.

2 p.m.: Introduction by Professor David Gabai *77,*80, Chair.

2:05: Professor David Gabai

2:20: Dr. Jon Fickenscher, Instructor

2:35: Alex Iriza (Salutatorian, Class of 2014)

2:45: Phillippe Sosoe *14

2:55: Peter Humphries (Graduate Student)

3:05: Takumi Murayama (Class of 2014)

3:15: Jane Wang (Class of 2014)

Read more
May 5, 2014
This week's Minerva Distinguished Visitor Lecture: Andrei Okounkov - Outlook

Andrei Okounkov will deliver this year's final Minerva Distinguished Visitor Lecture this Friday at 4:30 p.m. in Fine Hall 214. Previous talks can be watched at



I will explain how what we learned is applied in the enumerative geometry of curves in 3-folds and talk about various directions in which it can be generalized.

Read more
May 1, 2014
Alex Iriza named salutatorian

Mathematics major Alex Iriza was named this year's salutatorian. Iriza will graduate with a certificate in the Program for Applied and Computational Mathematics, and will return to Princeton in the fall to pursue a masters degree in computer science. For more information, see the full citation here

Read more
May 1, 2014
Professor David Gabai has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Professor David Gabai, Chair and Hughes Rogers Professor of Mathematics, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, energy and global security, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.

Read more
April 30, 2014
Math Major Eugene Katsevich Named 2014 Hertz Fellow

Mathematics major Eugene Katsevich has been named a 2014 Hertz Fellow. Katsevich will receive a stipend and full tuition for graduate school, and will being his Ph.D. studies at Stanford in the fall. For more information on Katsevich and the award, see here.

Read more
April 30, 2014
Thomas Beck has been awarded a 2014 graduate student teaching award

Congratulations to Thomas Beck, who has been selected as one of 5 Teaching Award recipients for 2014. The awards were presented at the annual Tribute to Teaching reception on April 29.

Read more
April 30, 2014
The program for the 2014 Women and Mathematics program day at Fine Hall is now available

Women and Mathematics Program

Visit to Princeton University

Fine Hall: Monday, May 19, 2014

For more information on the Women and Mathematics Program, see

9:45 AM: Shuttle bus pick-up at IAS. (Destination: Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, Princeton University.)

Read more
April 29, 2014
This week's Minerva Distinguished Visitor Lecture: Andrei Okounkov - Rational curves in quiver varieties

This week's Minerva Distinguished Visitor Lecture will be "Rational curves in quiver varieties." Andrei Okouknov will deliver the lecture Friday, May 2nd, from 4:30 p.m. to 6 p.m. in Fine Hall 314. For videos of previous lectures, see

We will first review the general structural features of quantum multiplication and
then discuss the key points that allow to determine it for Nakajima varieties.

Read more
April 17, 2014
Congratulations to Professor John Mather, who has been awarded the 2014 Brouwer Prize

Congratulations to  Professor John Mather, who has been awarded the  2014 Brouwer Prize 

The award will be presented at the Dutch Mathematical Conference to be held on April 16–17, 2014 at Delft University of Technology.

Professor Mather was awarded this prize for work in the field of Dynamic Systems. The award citation highlights his pioneering work on the weak Kolmogorov-Arnold-Moser theory and the theory of Arnold diffusion.

Read more